Winners of the inaugural Lewton-Brain Foldform Competition were announced on Aug 6, 2012 at the 5th Annual Charles Lewton-Brain Conference hosted by the Center for Metal Arts in downstate, New York. This video showcases the winning entries and also twenty Jurors' Choice pieces selected from among the hundreds of entries submitted by artists around the world. 

"It is wonderful to see the beautiful objects and new developments in foldforming that are occurring. The pieces here represent the best of what is being created today using foldforming." - Charles Lewton-Brain 

Jurors:  Charles Lewton-Brain, Tim McCreight, Ed Mack.

Competition Winners 
First place: "Undersea Candelabra" by Rauni Higson; Second place:  "Spiritus" by Theresa Nguyen; Third place:  "Quadrant" by Kaiya Rainbolt; Honorable Mention:  "Pleated Silver Drinking Set" by Grant McCaig.

Jurors' Choice featured artists 
Alison Antelman, Melody Armstrong, Peter Danilo, Christine Finch, Deborah Jemmott, Sue Lacy, Evelyn Markasky, Theresa Nguyen, Aimee Petkus, Judith Renstrom, Anna Robinson, George Sawyer, Brad Severtson, Lyn Stoll, Patricia Tschetter, Paul Wells, Anne Wolf.

The annual competition is open to artists everywhere and coincides with the Charles Lewton-Brain Conference on Foldforming.  Both are hosted by Center for Metal Arts in downstate, New York.  Visit for more information and visit this SueLacy Wired post for an extensive live blog documenting the 2012 conference in text, photos, and video. 

If you work with metal and would like to join the official Foldforming group on Facebook, visit here: .  (If your public Facebook profile does not reflect your involvement with metal, please message me with details.)